A few items from Patch 3.2.2

There’s not a lot to report from the Test Realm yet, just a handful of new recipes have trickled out so far.  Since this patch isn’t really about anything other than Ony 2.0, I wouldn’t expect a ton of profession goodies either.  I don’t know what they have in mind, but I think the most interesting item is the new concept for Leatherworking drums and the new group scrolls.

Appparently Blizz wants to encourage us to “bring the player, not the class” and have introduced the idea of item-based buffs.  This is basically a crafted item that mimics a player buff, so presumably you would not need that specific class in your raid in order to get their buff.  Right now there are three such buffs in the mix: PW – Fortitude, Blessing of Kings and Gift of the Wild.  I’m rather surprised at GotW, I was under the impression that this was still a laughable buff.

Anyway, I found the new items on the Test Realm.  Two are in the form of the old, BC-style drums that went the way of the Dodo.  These are both available from the trainer and require max level Leatherworking skill to make:

Drums of Forgotten Kings

Drums of Forgotten Kings

Drums of the Wild

Drums of the Wild

The third is an Inscription “scroll”, I guess meaning it would work like a normal scroll you apply to yourself but somehow the whole raid would receive the buff.  This is also available from the trainer and requires 440 Inscription skill to make:

Runescroll of Stamina

Runescroll of Stamina

It’s kind of weird to me that they are using two different mechanics for this, but I assume they wanted to spread the love around.  They could also reintroduce the cauldrons (another BC dodo) so that Alchemists could get in on the act.  I don’t honestly know how many Leatherworkers and Scribes there are running around, but if you didn’t have either of those you’d still be out of luck on these buffs.  If it were me I think I’d probably get a third profession in on the act, perhaps the Alchemy option I mentioned.  I’d seriously consider giving all three of them the same buffs.  That way you’d have these three, dare we say it…. “core” buffs available under a variety of circumstances.  In fact, this would be a very nice way for Rogues and other non-buff classes to bring more group utility to the table.

I really like this idea and I’m glad that the Blizzard folks are brainstorming ways to improve group mechanics and increase the utility of various professions.  My only concern is that two professions, each having 1-2 group buffs might be a tad skimpy to achieve the ubiquitous effect they seem to be going for.  I think by including one more profession and giving all three buffs to each profession, they could achieve genuine ubiquity :)

On a completely different note, there appears to be a new enchanting recipe listed by MMO-Champion called an Abyssal Shatter.  This will enable enchanters to turn Abyssal Crystals into lesser components.  This recipe is not showing up on the Enchanting trainer or any of the faction vendors at this time.  I’m not sure how it would be accessed, but I’ll keep checking!

10 Responses to “A few items from Patch 3.2.2”

  1. Jelia Says:

    I don’t know, maybe I am wrong, but it says they only require level 80 to use. Not inscription/leatherworker level… At least in the screen shots you show.

  2. kaliope Says:

    My bad, I meant that the items require 440/450 skill to make, not use. I’ll fix that!

  3. Kring Says:

    Not all drums went the way of the dodo, the Drums of Panic still work at 80.

  4. Twan Says:

    tHANKS FOR THE POST. Re-looking at my scale inventory.

  5. kaliope Says:

    Kring: Sorry for being unclear, I was referring to the addition of drum recipes in WotLK, not the use of existing items.

  6. Sjs Says:

    So far as I can see, none of these items are bind-on-pickup, so you won’t need to have a leatherworker or scribe in your group to get these buffs… just buy the appropriate item from the AH.

  7. kaliope Says:

    You’re right – they don’t show any LW skill requirement or binding limitations on the current tooltip. I guess we’ll see if they stay that way, but it would be quite handy for raiders if they did.

  8. bldavis Says:

    hmmm, looks like i have even more reason to grind my LW up the final 15 points

  9. Rhoanna Says:

    Any luck locating the Abyssal Shatter recipie?

  10. Elnath Says:

    It’s great.
    Finally, if we don’t have any priest, pala or priest, we can enjoy their buffs ^^
    You know if this buffs are stacked?
    If I use my mark of wild and the drums… I can have two equal buffs?

Comments are closed.


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

